Willington Association Football Club is an English football club based in Willington, County Durham. The club is currently members of the Northern League Division Two and plays at Hall Lane.

The club was established in 1906 and joined the Northern League in 1911. They finished as runners-up in their second season and won the league in 1913–14. In 1925–26 they won the league again, and in 1927–28 they reached the semi-final of the FA Amateur Cup, losing 2–1 to Cockfield in a replay. They won a third Northern League title in 1929–30, and in 1938–39 they reached the final of the Amateur Cup, losing 3–0 to Bishop Auckland at Roker Park, Sunderland.

In 1945–46 they reached the first round of the FA Cup for the first time but lost to Bishop Auckland. In 1949–50 they reached the final of the Amateur Cup for a second time, this time defeating Bishop Auckland 4–0 at Wembley Stadium before a crowd of 88,000. The following season they got to the FA Cup first round but lost 3–0 to Rochdale. They reached the first round of the FA Cup again in 1973–74, losing to Blackburn Rovers after a replay.

After finishing bottom of the Northern League Division One in 1982–83, Willington were relegated to Division Two. The club struggled in the second tier, finishing bottom of the league in 1983–84 and 1991–92, and only finishing in the top ten five times in twenty-two seasons. After finishing bottom again in 2005–06 they were relegated to the Wearside League. They continued to struggle, finishing second from bottom in their first two seasons in the league, and then bottom in 2008–09 and 2009–10.

In 2013 Willington AFC was promoted back to the Northern League Division Two.

The 2017/18 campaign saw Willington AFC have their best Northern League points tally for 42 years (1976).

The club has had a number of players who went on to play in the football league, including Joe Banks-Spurs, George Tweedy-Grimsby Town, Billy Ashurst-Notts County, Ray Pointer-Burnley, Andy Graver-Lincoln City.

Famous Managers include Malcolm Allison, Alan Durban, Eddie Kyle, Alan Murray, Alan Shoulder, Stan Cummins

The current management team consists of Rob Lee and Anth Lee.

Chairman: Richard Tremewan

Media Officer: Dean Midas

Groundsmen: Shaun & Paul Cooper

Ground Capacity:

7000: Seated: 350


Entry: £5 adults, £3 concession and £2 under 16’s (Free with a paying Adult)

Match Programme



Home-Royal Blue/White Shirts Blue Shorts + Socks

Away-Yellow Shirts Green Shorts + Socks


FA Amateur Cup

Winners 1949-50, finalists 1938-39.

Northern League Champions

1913-14, 1925-26, 1929-30, runners-up 1912-13, 1957-58, 1975-76

League Cup Winners

1924-25, 1925-26, 1927-28, 1930-31, 1931-32 , 1948-49, 1956-57, 1974-75, finalists 1913-14, 1948-49

Durham Benevolent Bowl Winners

1948-49, 1950-51, 1957-58

Durham Auxiliary Memorial Cup Winners


Wearside Football League Cup finalists